Jay Cunning from Menu Music gives us his Breakspoll breakdown

By Dan Cole

In the run up to this year’s Breakspoll, the annual breakbeat awards, we’ve been asking the award contenders what their thoughts are as to who they think will win.

This week, Beatportal speaks with Jay Cunning, label owner of Menu Music and Kiss FM resident DJ, and asks him who he thinks will walk away with the important awards.

Best Album

Ils ‘Paranoid Prophets’

Without a doubt, this album is one of his greatest works.

Ils is using some of the older influences from his first album ‘Idiots Behind The Wheel’ but with some great vocal action added. A true classic.

Best Single

Hardy Hard & Lady Waks featuring Mr X ‘Minimal’

This tune was absolutely huge in not only the break scene but way beyond.

The Rogue Element [a] remix still has dancefloor across the world dropping to their knees.

Best Label

Menu Music

Well, we do have to pat ourselves on the back once in a while!

We only had three releases in 2007, but that’s been our ethos from the start — quality not quantity!

Maelstrom’s debut release ‘Rocksteady’ and ‘Distro Funk’ and Hardy Hard & Lady Waks ‘Minimal’ both ended up on the Krafty Kuts fabric comp and on the seminal ‘Knuckle Sandwich’ by Rico Tubbs.

Bring on 2008 — it’s all about the gangsters!

Best Producer

Atomic Hooligan

These guys can do no wrong with their dance/rock/breaks/house/what-the-hell tracks and remixes.

Their new album smashes all genre barriers.

Best DJ

It’s a close call but both Menu’s Atomic Hooligan and Jay Cunning have been touring the world in 2007, laying down fresh beats and rocking the parties!

Best Website

These guys have won it for the last few years and deservedly so, with great news, info and downloads.

If you wanna know anything about the breaks scene, then this is the place to start.